Latest headlines:

Error: Feed failed! Causes may be (1) No data found for RSS feed; (2) There are no items are available for this feed; (3) The RSS feed does not validate.

Please verify that the URL works first in your browser and that the feed passes a validator test.

OSA working with Bone and Joint Canada on FIFA 11+ program


To address injury rates in soccer, FIFA has convened an international group of experts to develop an injury prevention program called the FIFA 11+.

The 11+ injury prevention program has been designed for players from U12 through their teenage years and has been shown to reduce injury rates by up to 70 per cent.

It is a 20 minute warm-up routine that consists of varying running exercises with dynamic stretching, strength, plyometrics, agility and field balance components with a focus on cutting, jumping and landing technique. The program consists of 3 parts: part 1 and part 3 are based on running activities. Part two consists primarily of strengthening exercises. To be effective the program needs to be complete 1.5 times per week as part of the regular coaching activity.

The successful implementation of the FIFA 11+ program requires a coordinated approach to coaching and health. As such the Ontario Soccer Association is working with Bone and Joint Canada to leverage the expertise of health care professionals through a train the trainer program across the province to assist clubs in the implementation of the FIFA 11+ program.

If your club is interested in implementing the program please send an email by April 30, 2014.

Click here for more information on FIFA 11+.

Filed under: Administration  

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.