The OSA News » Canada U23 Men’s Olympic Camp Roster Announced

Canada U23 Men’s Olympic Camp Roster Announced

image_thumb3322OTTAWA, ON — Canada has announced a 23-player roster for its men’s U-23 / Olympic camp in Sunrise, FL from 13 to 20 March. The eight-day camp will give U-23 coach Tony Fonseca and his staff the opportunity to assess the players and select a final 20-player roster for the 2012 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament. Canada will leave Sunrise for Nashville, TN on Tuesday 20 March.

The 2012 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament runs 22 March to 2 April in Nashville, TN (Group B), Carson, CA (Group A) and Kansas City (semi-final and final stages). While Canada, Cuba, El Salvador and USA are featured in Group B, Honduras, Mexico, Panama and Trinidad and Tobago are featured in Group A. From the eight teams competing in the tournament, only two will qualify for the London 2012 Olympics.

Players must be born 1989 or later. For the 23-player pre-tournament camp, coach Fonseca has selected players from professional clubs in Canada, USA, England, France, Germany, Scotland, Singapore and Uruguay. The oldest players were born in 1989 while the youngest players were born in 1994.

Of the 23 players, 15 of them have participated in a previous men’s U-23 camp with coach Fonseca. Three of the 23 players have experience with the national "A" team, including Nana Attakora and Marcus Haber who have participated in FIFA World Cup Qualifiers. Fourteen of the 23 players have experience in a CONCACAF tournament, be it at the national "A", U-23, U-20 or U-17 level. Haber is the lone returning player from the last CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament in 2008.

Four years ago in 2008, Canada finished third at the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Carson, CA and Nashville, TN. Canada in fact came within a win of qualifying for the Beijing 2008 Olympics, falling to the USA in the semi-final match in Nashville. Canada has previously qualified for both the Montréal 1976 and Los Angeles 1984 Olympics (with a fifth-place finish in 1984). Canada also won gold at the St. Louis 1904 Olympics.

GK- Adam Janssen | USA / Minnesota Stars
GK- Michal Misiewicz | CAN / FC Edmonton
GK- Simon Thomas | ENG / Huddersfield Town
D- Nana Attakora | USA / San Jose Earthquakes
D- Drew Beckie | USA / University of Denver
D- Sherif El-Masri | SIN / Courts Young Lions
D- Andrés Fresenga | URU / Racing Club de Montevideo
D- Tristan Grant | URU / Club Nacional
D- Doneil Henry | CAN / Toronto FC
D- Matt Stinson | CAN / Toronto FC
M- Bryce Alderson | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
M- Kyle Bekker | USA / Boston College
M- Philippe Davies | Unattached / sans club
M- Mozesh Gyorio | USA / Sporting Kansas City
M- Evan James | CAN / Impact Montréal
M- Samuel Piette | FRA / FC Metz
M- Shaun Saiko | CAN / FC Edmonton
M- Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
F- Lucas Cavallini | URU / Club Nacional
F- Marcus Haber | SCO / St. Johnstone FC
F- Carl Haworth | CAN / Impact Montréal
F- Kyle Porter | CAN / FC Edmonton
F- Babayele Sodade | USA / Seattle Sounders

Canadian Soccer Association
Leading Canada to victory and Canadians to a life-long passion for soccer


Notify me of any new comments on this post!

Comments are closed.