The OSA News » 2010 Soccer Hall Of Fame Induction

2010 Soccer Hall Of Fame Induction


Click for Album

VAUGHAN, ON — Canada’s soccer elite met in the Ontario Soccer Centre foyer in Vaughan on Friday, June 4th, for a reception honouring the 2010 Inductees and a viewing of their plaques in the William Hoyle Room, named in honour of the founder, past Chair and Chair Emeritus of the Board of Governors whose foresight, initiative and determined hard work starting more than 10 years ago which has made the Hall of Fame the showcase of Canadian Soccer History that it is today.

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (83)_1
Toronto Metros-Croatia co-owners Bruce Thomas & Dick Bezic

Click for OSATv TouchLine interview with
Dick Bezic

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (73)_1
Inductee Gordie Ion

On Saturday, June 5th, the Inductees gathered again to celebrate the induction of three Players, two Builders, one Pioneer, one Organization of Distinction, one Team of Distinction and one individual who received the newly-minted Brian Budd Award.

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (90)_1
Inductees at BMO Media Reception

Following a pre-game Media “Meet and Greet” in the BMO Field Press Conference Room, the Inductees and members of the Team of Distinction filed onto the field and were introduced to the highly appreciative Toronto FC fans prior to the match against the Kansas City Wizards (Final score: 0-0).

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (102)_6_1
Cocktails at Liberty Grand Reception

At 6pm, the Inductees along with friends, family members, colleagues, supporters and guests met for cocktails preceding The Hall of Fame Induction Banquet perennially emceed by Gerry Dobson and Craig Forrest at the Liberty Grande on Toronto’s CNE grounds.

The inductees included:


  • Silvana Burtini – 38 goals for Canada
  • Gordie Ion – Member of Canada’s first Men’s World Cup Team
  • Dr. Walter Thompson – Member of Canadian Team that toured Britain in 1888 (represented by grand-daughters)

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (197)_6_1
Gordie Ion, Marlie McFarlane, Silvana Burtini, Heather Pilling, Randy Ragan


  • Stuart Brown – Coached Edmonton Angels to nine Women’s National Championships
  • Brian Avey – Long time Executive Director of the Ontario Soccer Association

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (163)_1
Brian Avey, Stuart Brown, Colin Jose

Pioneer Award

John Russell – President of the Dominion of Canada Football Association -1925-1931 (represented by grand-son) .

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (157)_5_1
John Vanderkolk, Ken Russell, Ron Smale

Team of Distinction

Toronto Metros-Croatia – NASL Champions in 1976.

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (201)_7_1
Toronto Metros-Croatia — 1976 NASL and Soccer Bowl Champions

Click for OSATv TouchLine interviews with
Eusébio, Dick Bezic, Bobby Iarusci, Carmine Marcantonio

Organization of Distinction

The Vancouver Firefighters, national champions on four occasions between 1965 and 1990 will also be honoured in a new category that recognizes organizations that have excelled over a long period of time.

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (166)_1
Lynn McGarrigle, Mike Gilmore, Gary Stevens, Tom Anselmi

Brian Budd Award

Peter Zezel – Member of the Canadian Under-21 National Team in the 1982 CONCACAF Youth tournament who was drafted by the Toronto Blizzard of the NASL, played for the North York Rockets of the Canadian Soccer League and, at the age of 19, joined the Philadelphia Flyers camp enroute to a stellar career in the National Hockey League.

Click for more information

2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (188)_6_1
Tom Anselmi, Brenda Budd, Valerie Zezel, Paul Cinelli

Click for OSATv TouchLine interviews with
Brenda Budd, Valerie Zezel, Paul Cinelli

A highlight of the evening was the record auction of a World Cup replica trophy in celebration of the upcoming FIFA World Cup in Capetown, South Africa. The proceeds were collected in support of the Soccer Hall of Fame and Museum.

 2010.06.05 Hall of Fame Induction (134)_1
Craig Forrest with coveted World Cup replica trophy

The Soccer Hall of Fame is a subsidiary of The Ontario Soccer Association and is supported by the Canadian Soccer Association.

Visit the CSA Website and for additional coverage of the 2010 Soccer Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies.

Reported by Wolf Ruck / OSA
Photos by Rob Ferrari & Wolf Ruck / OSA

Notify me of any new comments on this post!

Comments are closed.